Give me Dome.

Domes, a fringe trend in architecture. In the end they all look pretty similar, but how one makes a dome varies. I got interested in building domes recently and I stumbled on a couple different methods. The first one is possibly the cheapest. After a coil-pot construction, the bags are then covered with adobe.

Now, I know what you’re thinking… Domes are funny looking. Personally I would avoid any kind of porthole like shapes on my dome and stick to classical windows, but to each their own, neh?

The second one I found was a Japanese company called International Dome Houses Ltd. The link here takes you to the introductory movies explaining how the process works, complete with Japanese school girl tour guide and jazzy advertising music. Love it! I got to give it to them, they made domes pretty fashionable and streamline, but these domes start at around $30,000 and they are only made of styrofoam! I wouldn’t want to live in a styrofoam house, would you?

Then I found Monolithic Domes. I admire this company because of the easy, straight forward process that produces a very strong structure for under $10,000. You could easily make a dome in this style, with this process for around $5,000 (assuming you know a guy with a portable air compresser like I do.)

Watch this video

Not only that, but Monolithic Domes is also doing charity work all over the world natural disaster victims. Domes for the World.

Then I found a video of some Aussies who are designing a village using concrete filled tires for the foundation.

The model they are trying to promote as affordable housing for developing countries is called the Eco-Shell, and they are on average 28ft in diameter. They have no bathroom, but they make community bathing facilities, and you could always save up for a smaller dome addition!

After seeing all these different techniques I came to one conclusion, I need to make me a dome.

5 thoughts on “Give me Dome.

  1. liz

    I looooove this new idea of dome homes! I say ditch the traditional box and upgrade! I myself am looking into everything to do with domes for my future home 🙂

    Reply
    1. badiullah sanai

      the domes system was always in my mind but this system is great i am an advisore for urban planning in republic of yemen for 33 years i think i should intraduse it to our government

      Reply
  2. swartstudio

    Reblogged this on SWart Studio and commented:
    I was looking for a specific image for an upcoming third grade project and I came across this blog by artist, Sean Hunter Williams. I’m fascinated with his work and can’t wait to share it with students!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

